Natural Living Des Moines


Update on Melanie Moore from Midwifery Today by naturaldsm
October 23, 2007, 4:38 pm
Filed under: Birth

Dear Friends,

As you know, the state of Iowa was charging me with practicing medicine without a license, a felony. My court date was set for August 20 but on August 17 the state made an offer, which I accepted.

Here is a break down:

The good: No jail! If I follow the rules of my probation for one year all charges against me will be expunged. The charge was considered a “serious misdemeanor.”
The bad: One year probation, $315 in fines, $100 court costs and $300 probationfee (so far). Not bad fees, but they are compounded by my inability to earn aliving. An added surprise was 25 hours community service (not a part of theoriginal deal). I will look at it as an opportunity to expand my horizons andwork toward empowering women through birth.

The ugly: I was forced to sign a plea of guilty to practicing medicine without a license. I feel nauseous to even write this. You know and I know that midwifery is NOT the practice of medicine and I will yell it from the rooftops forever!

Please forgive me for signing those papers. If you had seen my family when they made the offer – the looks on their faces – you would surely understand. A friend who has been through it herself counseled “THEY have all the power; you are a mere speck. A flea on the back of the elephant. You can fight them and destroy your life because it will take herculean stamina and financial resources AND you will undoubtedly lose.”

I hope women will continue to choose homebirths, lay midwives will attend them and apprentices will wait in line to assist at these incredible events! Please decriminalize midwifery in Iowa! Or at least recognize the Certified Professional Midwife.

What does my future hold? Time will tell. I continue attending births as a certified doula. I dream of combining my love of dance and women to teach some pregnancy belly dance classes. Thank you so very much for all your support. I and my family have been humbled. You are all awesome.

Please never give up!

~ Melanie Moore


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Melanie,

I can’t believe we live in a state where this is happening! I just experienced my first homebirth with Carrie Ann as my midwife. It was amazing! However, she is closing the doors to her Gentle Birth and now I am lost. Are there any other midwives in the area that deliver babies at home? I do NOT want to birth at a hospital. Please email me if you have any recommendations. We just found out that we are expecting our 6th child and are praying for some direction in the area of a midwife. Thanks. gina.webb@gmail.com

Comment by Gina

Melanie does not post at NLDM, that was just something I had posted about Melanie.

However, Des Moines does have several homebirth midwives. I’m a little disappointed in Carey Ann that she’s not doing anything to help point her clients in the direction of other care providers in Des Moines. Every time I’ve seen a doctor who’s moved or closed their practice, they ALWAYS provide referrals to similar providers in the area in their patient letter.

Cosette Boone with Willowsong Midwifery does homebirth exclusively. 266-6712

Dana Erickson, Midwife and Doula Services does hospital birth exclusively, but indicated in the Register that she might consider delivering at the Birth Center if it remained open under new management. 266-6712

Sheryl Puderbaugh, Heart & Hands Clinic: 243-6408

Comment by naturaldsm

[…] midwives, and many consumers, have been content to leave it this way. (I am one of them.) But then Melanie Moore was brought up on charges of Practicing Medicine Without A License. (Her prosecution was not […]

Pingback by Friends of Iowa Midwives « Natural Living Des Moines

[…] midwives, and many consumers, have been content to leave it this way. (I am one of them.) But then Melanie Moore was brought up on charges of Practicing Medicine Without A License. (Her prosecution was not […]

Pingback by Friends of Iowa Midwives « Wallypoppers

[…] midwives, and many consumers, have been content to leave it this way. (I am one of them.) But then Melanie Moore was brought up on charges of Practicing Medicine Without A License. (Her prosecution was not […]

Pingback by Friends of Iowa Midwives « The View From Here

Melanie, I’m shocked to hear about the nasty turn of events. I’ll be letting the entire community here know about your struggles. We completely believe in you and your resolve, and also understand the necessary submission. I hope Iowa digs its head out of the corn fields eventually and wakes up.

Love you and hope to hearfrom you.

Comment by Katarina Kuhn

Again, I have no reason to believe Melanie reads messages here. But anyone interested in legalizing CPMs in Iowa can contact Friends of Iowa Midwives.

Comment by Sarah




Leave a Reply

