Natural Living Des Moines


Fun Babywearing Information by sarahtar
December 30, 2007, 9:59 am
Filed under: Parenting

I realized with a jolt recently that I haven’t really worn Wally since summer. I suppose at 3 and a half, he’s generally just feeling far too old and mature to ride in a sling these days…plus with winter, it’s hard. It was easy with a baby, but it’s hard with a preschooler and winter coats.

So it’s been a while since I explored the world of babywearing online, and I allowed myself to indulge in a brief bit of web surfing this morning. I found this awesome Flickr group featuring babywearing photos from around the world.  Turns out, there’s a new type of baby carrier on the market – the Chunei. It seems to be yet another “modern take on a traditional Asian carrier” type of deal, this time with buckles and straps, but if you’re into buckles and straps, it does actually look pretty cool. I like the looks much better than most structured carriers, that’s for sure. Me, though – I’ll stick with my Mei Tai and wrap carriers! I even still love my Podegi.

I also found this awesome blog, which now holds a spot in my Bloglines.  Magic City Slingers is a babywearing group much like our own Des Moines Babywearing, but much more active and with a blog.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The Canadian Press – The

In July, three elephants escaped from the circus north of Toronto before they were corralled. And not all wild encounters

Trackback by counter kitchen services top toronto

I’m stuck here in the SW corner of the state, but read this blog since I would LOVE to live in DSM.🙂

I have a chunei, and it is an awesome carrier- even with the buckles and straps.😉 Which I’m often not fond of. It’s a quicker on and off than a pod, which makes it a great ‘leave it in the car so you’re never without it’ carrier. It’s also easy to handoff to DH even with the sleeping baby still in it (ours has a ‘safety seat’ in it to prevent really little babies from slipping). I’m too small chested to get a good torso only carry in my pod, but this gives me more full-torso weight support (the shoulder straps are just to wrangle in wiggly toddlers, I usually don’t even wear the shoulder straps on mine) and my small chest isn’t an issue. For mamas with bad backs/shoulders and small chests, this is a great alternative! I also found one in mesh, which I am looking forward to using in our humid IA summers; especially when we trek up to Adventureland the 5 or 6 times my inlaws go.

Comment by Denise




Leave a Reply

