Natural Living Des Moines


Urban Homesteading: Backyard Chickens by sarahtar
January 27, 2009, 6:39 pm
Filed under: Home and Garden

Since I first posted about this several months ago, our family’s gone back and forth on the chicken thing. I really wanted to go ahead, but felt that my husband was reluctant. Ultimately, in the throes of a Dealing With A Newborn Plus A Preschooler Plus A Business Is Just Way Too Much crisis, I decided we were definitely NOT going to have chickens.

Then a few friends continued to talk about it, and pointed me to Ed Fallon, who raised chickens. Ed and I never had a chance to hook up (I swear, I am never near a phone with the kids are both quiet), but as I felt a little less overwhelmed with the demands of two children, a household, and a business, I started thinking about the chickens again.

Ultimately, I spent the weekend and last night reading online a LOT, and looking at coop designs, and whatnot, and decided I’d love to do it, but still felt my husband was not really as excited as I was.

Tonight he came home and I said “so, what about chickens, what do you think?” and he responded, to my surprise, “I thought it was a done deal, what are you waiting for?”

Well, alright. So, we’re going to get chickens.

And it so happens that at least two of my fellow city-dwelling friends are going to be getting chickens this spring, as well. Check back here for updates on our adventures with chicken-raising! Hopefully, I’ll be able to talk them into blogging a bit about their processes, as well. You can also check out our Facebook group for Iowa Urban Chicken Farmers.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Well done! Chickens are lovely to have in your garden, I have 6 in total and love hearing them and watching them play, they really do have their own personalities and characteristics!
Domi x
http://barenaturals.com/news

Comment by dominiquelily




Leave a Reply

