Natural Living Des Moines


Farm City by sarahtar
April 19, 2010, 4:29 pm
Filed under: Books, Food, Home and Garden, Urban Homesteading

Last month, on a road trip with my extended family (more accurately, my husband’s extended family), I had a chance to read Farm City: The Education of an Urban Farmer by Novella Carpenter. It’s available at the Des Moines Public Library.

I will say, once I got past the first chapter, I really, really enjoyed the book. It’s a light narrative that talks you through the joys, frustrations, learning experiences, and successes of a busy urban farm in California. It was like sitting down to a long chat with the author.

In addition to chickens, the author kept ducks, turkeys, pigs, bees, and I think possibly a few other animals, as well. She killed and processed the fowl herself, which impressed me quite a bit. She fed the livestock largely on scraps (or at least that’s the impression I walked away with). Many of these scraps came from refuse bins at local restaurants – and her descriptions of their foraging trips have inspired me to find a dumpster or two to dive into myself for my own chickens.

I will say, though, her descriptions of keeping the bees made me rather less eager to give beekeeping a try. They got stung. A lot. And not while tending to the bees – just while living. Apparently, the bees liked it inside their apartment. Hm, no, thanks.

Novella, during the time of the book, was able to farm on a deserted lot that bordered her apartment’s lot. She was a squatter, but she also had permission from the landowner. I did end up wishing that I lived next to an empty, sunny lot whose owner would allow me to garden there! The trick in Novella’s case, though, was that she was living/farming in a rather impoverished part of town, and so the lot’s owner had a fairly difficult time finding anyone who wanted to build anything on the lot. I’m not likely to have that issue in my neighborhood.

One item that continually irked me throughout the book was the author’s mentioning of people’s political leanings – most particularly, anyone who somehow didn’t live up to her standards and who also happened to be (or was presumed by the author to be) a conservative. It was interesting – I’m not sure, for example, how one’s political identification affects one’s willingness to return phone calls in a timely fashion.

Regardless, this is a pretty good read that I’d recommend to anyone. I picked it up after what seemed to me to be a rather lukewarm mention in the Urban Chickens Network blog, expecting something completely different. I was pleasantly surprised. AND this made for a perfect read on our trip.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

