Natural Living Des Moines


Respect those who make choices different from you! by sarahtar
October 4, 2010, 10:45 pm
Filed under: Food

I had been working (mentally) on a post about respecting the choices of others, particularly with regard to farming practices. Between The Big Show (on WHO Radio, which I do listen to on occasion), green bloggers, a few farming/ranching blogs, and a lot of foodie blogs, I’m starting to get very, very tired of all of the bashing going on. Conventional farmers feel they have to put down natural/organic farmers to stay competitive. Natural/organic farmers feel they have to put down conventional farmers as part of their marketing to promote their own product. Foodies inevitably prefer the natural/green products and end up criticizing the conventional farmers.

The question I’ve wanted to ask many of these people, particularly the natural/green folks (of which I am one) has been “Have you ever met a conventional farmer and discussed farming with them?” Because, if not, then maybe you ought not be sitting there saying “conventional farmers this” and “conventional farmers that.” Conventional farmers are not evil incarnate. Most conventional farmers are doing the very best they can to produce a high quality product – and they succeed. They are hard working men and women trying to earn a living and support their families. They are, in fact, my two uncles, my grandfather before he died a few years ago, several of my cousins, my great-uncles, my second cousins, my aunt’s in-laws, and the entire community in which I spent my summers as a child.

As I was working on this, Shanen Ebersole over at Ebersole Cattle Co posted a very excellent article titled Rancher Respect.

Go read her post, and then I don’t have to finish mine!


13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but
after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

Comment by Keesha

Genuinely when someone doesn’t understand after that its up to other viewers that they will assist, so here it occurs.

Comment by Www.Stressfreeweddingplanning.Com

Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to
me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back
often!

Comment by news

We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
Does one offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome blog!

Comment by short term furnished rentals Tucson AZ

Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to
shoot you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

Comment by jewellery valuations dublin

Hello! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a
theme or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.
If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!

Comment by jewellery valuers

Awesome! Its actually amazing paragraph, I
have got much clear idea on the topic of from this paragraph.

Comment by Marylyn

Most people find online dating is an easy and pressure-free way to meet people.
As for the adult women who are into dating, most of them are out due to long-term relationship heartbreak and so they are there to meet anyone
possible. Network, shortening the distance between
people, but not to shorten the distance between the mind and soul.

Comment by matchmaking services nyc

Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to offer one thing back and help others such as you aided me.

Comment by http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fw2xJB0oKiI

Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Comment by augustswitzer.newsvine.com

Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next post thanks once again.

Comment by short-term corporate rental near Tucson

Thanks for the good writeup. It in reality was once a entertainment account it.
Glance advanced to far delivered agreeable from you!
However, how can we communicate?

Comment by Allen

Diets high in fat and protein are usually effective for people in losing weight.
The mother will nurse them for 3-4 months until they are able to swim on their own. If you don’t know the cause of a pain, tap on the image of that pain and you’ll probably get a measure of
relief.

Comment by Morton's Neuroma (Intermetatarsal Neuroma)




Leave a Reply

