Natural Living Des Moines


Calling all Ankeny residents! by sarahtar
June 7, 2011, 9:49 am
Filed under: Community, Home and Garden, News

Do you think you might want to raise your own chickens at any time in the future? Or are you supportive of the idea in general, even though you may not want to raise them yourself? The city council is poised to pass a new regulation that would forbid chickens in the city limits. NOW is the time to make a difference! Please check out the Iowa Urban Chicken Farmers group on Facebook. If you’re not on Facebook, please contact me directly and I’ll get you in touch with the folks trying to persuade the Council that chickens aren’t disease-ridden, horrible animals. The Council needs FACTS to counteract the FEAR that they’re currently working from.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

is there an update on this issue? Thanks,

Comment by juliecache

I asked Jenny over at the Iowa Urban Chicken Farmers Facebook group and she said: “There isn’t one yet. The loophole was closed and they [the city council] want me to find a group of ankeny people who want chickens to help give them information and such. I’ve only identified two people and I have a bunch of research to do on the surrounding area ordinances. I hope I can get that pulled together this fall and start working on the council members. It’s going to be an uphill battle I think and I feel like I need to learn more to be able to do this.”

Comment by sarahtar

Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform
you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Comment by Maude

My family every time say that I am wasting my time here
at net, however I know I am getting know-how every day by reading such pleasant articles or reviews.

Comment by furnished short term rentals Tucson Arizona

It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about
this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Comment by Donny

Chaussures Timberland sont principalement conçus pour les hommes, donc si vous voulez obtenir des chaussures satisfaisantes, puis le Timberland Roll Top Bottes est bon pour vous. Certains
timberland 6 inch with gold for women http://timberlandwomensboots.wordpress.com

Comment by timberland 6 inch with gold for women




Leave a Reply

